RoHS Categories

RoHS Impacted & Exempted Categories

The RoHS Directive currently applies to products in Categories 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 10 as per Schedule 1 of the WEEE Directive. Categories 8 and 9 of the RoHS Directive are currently exempted from compliance.

The following product categories are impacted under the RoHS Directive

  • Cat 1. Large household appliances: refrigerators, washers, stoves, air conditioners
  • Cat 2. Small household appliances: vacuum cleaners, hair dryers, coffee makers, irons
  • Cat 3. Computing & communications equipment: computers, printers, copiers, phones
  • Cat 4. Consumer electronics: TVs, DVD players, stereos, video cameras
  • Cat 5. Lighting: lamps, lighting fixtures, light bulbs
  • Cat 6. Power tools: drills, saws, nail guns, sprayers, lathes, trimmers, blowers
  • Cat 7. Toys and sports equipment: videogames, electric trains, treadmills
  • Cat 10. Automatic dispensers: vending machines, ATM machines

The following products are currently exempted from RoHS compliance

  • Category 8. Medical devices and equipment
  • Category 9. Control and monitoring equipment
  • National security use and military equipment
  • Large stationary industrial tools
  • Certain light bulbs and some batteries
  • Spare parts for electronic equipment in the market before July 1, 2006.

Follow Us